Writing 101: A Room with a View (or Just a View)


I am going to use this blog as a writing session also this month. This is the second time around that I am going to do the writing part of Writing 101. If you are interested to read more go to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-setting/

 

A place to call home

Sitting on a bench at the station waiting for the train to take me back to my own place I had a chance to look at another scene enfolding in front of me.

The train was already there. Waiting for 1:05 am to start the journey from Wellington back to Upper Hutt. The train doors were open. On the side panel inside the train  was a message saying: No eating or drinking inside.

IMG_7750

While looking around me a pigeon came hopping along. Hopping, because it had no feet. I looked at it in wonder! No feet but still looking for some morsels to eat. How did it survive up till now? Were its feet amputated by some waste that we, as humans love to just throw around? Was it born without feet or did a rat eat its feet while still young? All these questions turned in my head.

IMG_7747

In the meantime, the pigeon was happily jumping onto the steps of the train and into the passage. Then another pigeon came along. It also jumped into the train and chased my special pigeon away.  I started wondering: From where is this pigeon? Where is its place to rest during the night? Is it a safe place?

Isn’t it important in life to know that you have a safe place to go to. I am so glad I could take the train back home where I am safe.  Out of the way of the elements of nature. Not like this poor pigeon who always needs to be on the look out for people and other elements that can harm it.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/

Processed with Rookie

What have you been grateful for this week?

http://collinesblog.wordpress.com/2014/09/17/grateful-for-a-handy-husband/

 

Author: scrapydo2.wordpress.com

Retired teacher interested in anything crafty: Scrap booking, card making, quilting, knitting etc. Everything about animals especially DOGS

11 thoughts on “Writing 101: A Room with a View (or Just a View)”

    1. That is very true. We have a disability home just down the street where I live. It is just wonderful to see how some of these people still get up and into their wheelchairs and of they go to do some shopping or meet some friends in town.(These are all adult males)

      Like

Leave a Reply

