Hats : Travel Theme


Aren’t hats fabulous? I think the world would be a much better place if we all wore hats more often. Are you ready to throw your hat into the ring with your own interpretation of this week’s theme? If you would like to join in (everyone’s welcome!)

That is what Ailsa says at

Travel theme: Hats

HATS

IMG_8484

IMG_8480

A tam o’ shanter (in the British military often abbreviated TOS or tam) is a 19th-century traditional Scottish bonnet worn by men. It is named after Tam o’ Shanter, the eponymous hero of the poem by Robert Burns, of 1790.

The tam, or tam cap, became a fashionable women’s accessory from the early 1920s and was derived from the tam o’ shanter. It followed the trends for closer fitting hats and for borrowing from men’s fashion

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tam_o%27_shanter_(cap)

Author: scrapydo2.wordpress.com

Retired teacher interested in anything crafty: Scrap booking, card making, quilting, knitting etc. Everything about animals especially DOGS

14 thoughts on “Hats : Travel Theme”

  1. Hats are greatt on some people, but I just can’t seem to find any that suit me. One of my daughters looks super in any hat, so she doesn’t take after me! Thank you for the reminder aabout the lovely tam caps, Scrapydo. I hadn’t thought about those for years.

    Like

    1. I also love hats. Usually big ones. I have a hat my son hates, it is a denim material real floppy hat which I used when gardening. I brought it with me and I am going to wear it one day just to spite him!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Party mense lyk net mooi in ‘n hoed, en ander soos ek, lyk soos ‘n voëlverskrikker 😯 Deel van my rebelsheid rondom kerk was die hoed.

    Like

    1. Dis waar, tog lyk party mense heel elegant met n hoed op. Ek was spyt dat hul die hoede gelos het op einde. Ek het daarvan gehou om Sondae my hoed op te sit kerk toe!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

