Driftwood gathering: Monday finish the Story – Sept 28, 2015


© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Finish the story begins with:  “The A&B Building was made entirely from driftwood.” Why driftwood some of the prisoners thought.

The command was: Pick up as many straight, strong driftwood as you could find.

The prisoners were in groups of four, chained together by their feet. How could they work and find wood like that?

Suddenly one group found a long piece of wood. Between the four of them they carried it to the wagon. Before they dropped it into the wagon, they whipped around and killed their guard. They quickly grabbed the keys from the wagon, unlocked their chains and ran off.

In vain! A whole garrison of soldiers, who were camping nearby, chased and caught them all.

The four were locked up in lonely detention for thirty days.

The remaining prisoners kept on collecting more driftwood to finish off  the huge backside of the A&B Building.

Word count: 152

Visit the following blog for more information

https://mondaysfinishthestory.wordpress.com/2015/09/28/mondays-finish-the-story-sept-22nd-2015/

Mondays Finish the Story

Author: scrapydo2.wordpress.com

Retired teacher interested in anything crafty: Scrap booking, card making, quilting, knitting etc. Everything about animals especially DOGS

27 thoughts on “Driftwood gathering: Monday finish the Story – Sept 28, 2015”

        1. Good on you! I revised my ebook on Amazon and it took me all day. Hope to get to writing again this week.
          I am planning to do my book for the writers group the 3 weeks I am house sitting for my son. Every year end we have to put some of our writing into a book.
          Lots of love and hugs

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Well, their convicts’ trick to esacpe didn’t work too well for them, did it? Perhaps it was a spur of the minute thing and they hadn’t thought things through enough. Mind you, I think the guards need to consider better ways of keeping the convicts inder control if they want them to collect driftwood. Chaining them together at the feet isn’t very smart idea. Great story idea, Scrapydo. (Do you mean ‘In vain’ where you’ve put ‘In fain’?

    Like

    1. Yes, I also thought the keys should not be available on the wagon. I first thought of letting only one escape. That would have been impossible with the other three tied to him. It is in vain. I’ll quickly fix it. Thanks for correcting me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, the guards were a bit lax, but these things happen sometimes. I think those four men got off lightly with only a month’s isolation, considering they murdered someone. But perhaps they were already serving life sentences. (Just read about your ebook publication. Congratulations!) 🙂

        Like

          1. I’m looking forward to seeing your book. We’ve just got back hoem, so as soon as I’ve caught up with a few comments, I’ll have a look. You should be so proud of yourself for getting it all sorted on your own! 🙂

            Like

              1. Excellent! The more books you publish the better, so I’m told. I’m still trying to get my third one done, as you know. More books makes you more ‘visible’ on Amazon. Keep going with yours, Ineke. 😀

                Like

                1. Yes that’s what those who know say. After the seventh book people will go back and buy the earlier ones too. I am still waiting for your 3rd book. Do you read Wilbur Smith? I am busy reading a new one and in afrikaans too! I love his books. He has a family that lives in Zimbabwe and also this one in South Africa during the gold rush. (Thats in his books I mean)

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. I love Wilbur Smith! We have several of his books on our bookshelves that we read some years ago. Nick’s read all of them and I’ve read quite a few. I do like his South African ones, but I absolutely love River God! It’s one of my very favourite books. It’s set in ancient Egypt – which you’ll probably alrady know. I bet you really enjoy reading his new book in afrikaans. He’s getting on in years, too. He’s older than we are, as far as I know.

                    Like

Leave a Reply

