Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner: Trustful eyes


https://rogershipp.wordpress.com/2016/02/12/flash-fiction-for-the-purposeful-practitioner-week-7-2016/

 

public-domain-images-free-high-resolution-quality-photos-unsplash-0002-1024x612

http://publicdomainarchive.com/public-domain-images-black-lab-puppy-on-rustic-wood-background/

The opening sentence for the February 12th, Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner: “……. For the thousandth time, I promise you, it wasn’t me!” (Permission for this NOT be the opening sentence, but only a sentence included somewhere in your story….granted.)

TRUSTFUL EYES

Looking into her pleading puppy eyes made me smile. Fanny looked up from the bottom of the stairs. Nothing gave anything away that mischief had taken place a minute ago. Suddenly Jack, only four, came rushing in. All covered in chocolate. He stopped dead in his steps when he saw me at the top of the stairs. I put up a face that showed no amusement. Fanny wagged her tail in excitement. Jack stuttered: “Not me….no no.” He stopped and saw my angry face. “Mummy, it was Fanny……for the thousandth time, I PROMISE, it wasn’t me!” I could not help myself; I had to laugh at the picture of innocence on both faces. How could I be angry!

Author: scrapydo2.wordpress.com

Retired teacher interested in anything crafty: Scrap booking, card making, quilting, knitting etc. Everything about animals especially DOGS

16 thoughts on “Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner: Trustful eyes”

  1. Nice. I did, however, wonder about the boy’s vocal abilities. The first statement – ‘Not me, no,no’ sounded very much like a 4 year old. The next sentence seemed a bit advanced. But great story even so.

    Like

Leave a Reply

