Flowering Wisteria


I am very proud to announce that my Wisteria has got flowers this year!

I am living here since 2010. The poor Wisteria was cut down to the ground when I moved in. I did not cut it since 2010, and it became a better-grown climber. At the other side of my back fence, where it grows, are big waste bins. Every morning people from the workshops open the lids against the fence breaking off the new growth. There never were any flowers.

This year the climber gave me at least 20 strings of flowers.

 

It is hardy in USDA plant hardiness zones 5-9, and prefers moist soils. It is considered shade tolerant, but will flower only when exposed to partial or full sun. It will also flower only after passing from juvenile to adult stage, a transition that may take up to 20 years. It can live for over a hundred years.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wisteria_sinensis

Author: scrapydo2.wordpress.com

Retired teacher interested in anything crafty: Scrap booking, card making, quilting, knitting etc. Everything about animals especially DOGS

25 thoughts on “Flowering Wisteria”

  1. Mooiste mooi!Dit voer my ook terug na my kinderjare waar ons so ‘n stellasie gehad het,waaroor die bloureën gegroei het.Dit was elke lente ‘n besondere gesig

    Like

  2. We’ve never had a wisteria in all the places we’ve lived, even though I love to see them growing up walls and fences and around people’s front doors. Perhaps we’ll plant one next time we move! Congratulations on having yours flowering this year!

    Like

    1. Thank you. I am so glad it is flowering now. From now on it will do it every year. Sometimes my neighbour who is a keen gardener said that she doesn’t know why I don’t dig it out because it never has flowers! So glad I kept watering and looking after it.

      Like

  3. Ai, hoe verlang ek nou na die huis waar my kinders grootgeword het – daar was ‘n bloureën wat oor die paadjie na die voordeur toe gehang en elke jaar in oorvloed geblom het… Ek is saam met jou bly oor joune!

    Like

    1. Dankie, ek is heel in my skik dat hy uiteindelik blom. Toe ek lees dat hy jare vat voor hy blom was ek eers in my noppies dat ek deurgedruk het en hom kans gegee het om te ontwikkel. Ek is ook mal oor die prieële met hul bloureën in lente.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

