The road taken : Memoirs


A memoir (from French: mémoire: memoria, meaning memory or reminiscence) is a collection of memories that an individual writes about moments or events, both public or private, that took place in the subject’s life. The assertions made in the work are understood to be factual.
Since 2012 I have been writing my Memoirs for a writing group here in Upper Hutt called
“It’s write easy,”  I am going to share some of my writing under MEMOIRS here on my blog. I hope you the reader will enjoy reading it and some comments or tips would be appreciated.
The past week the Photo challenge on The Daily post was THE ROAD TAKEN.
Here is my take on it.

THE ROAD TAKEN

Life is like a road. Sometimes an endless uphill one, or an open, straightforward road. Sometimes there are bumps and sometimes smooth as velvet or silk.

The road I had taken in my early years of teaching and then marriage had lovely open ways but also many high mountains to cross. Lucky for me I had an excellent Driver during hard rides.

My first twenty-six years I went with the family flow. School, studies and for four years after qualifying I had the opportunity to be at home with my parents.

1972 I spread my wings and took the road to Potgietersrus today Mokopane. I had thirteen good years there. Love bit me, and my wedding followed. I moved to Secunda. My marriage route was most of the time fantastic but, the road wasn’t smooth at all at the end. After thirteen years in Secunda, I packed my car again and followed the road back to Potgietersrus.

101_3508

Another thirteen years went by until my next big move to Upper Hutt. The road to New Zealand was also not plain sailing at times. In 2010 I had to travel back to South Africa because my permanent Residency did not come through in time. Going back gave me another opportunity to take the road, by bus, through Botswana and Zimbabwe again. I could also take a trip down memory lane to where I grew up.

Today after being in Upper Hutt for eight years I don’t think that there will be another move again.

20170221_090435

One never knows where your life road goes. Trust is very crucial when one takes an unknown road/way…

Author: scrapydo2.wordpress.com

Retired teacher interested in anything crafty: Scrap booking, card making, quilting, knitting etc. Everything about animals especially DOGS

46 thoughts on “The road taken : Memoirs”

  1. JESAJA 30:21
    Wanneer jy die regte koers verlaat, sal jy agter jou ‘n stem hoor sê: “Hier is die pad, loop hierlangs.”
    Seker die Here is saam met jou op al jou paaie

    Like

      1. Granny says it’s like getting backwards from now, Trompie. She also has a lot of memories coming back from the past, but then I remind her to be mindful 😉 We had one week of beautiful weather. Yesterday was 17°C, so it felt like Summer…almost…MOL 😀 Pawkisses for a Wonderful Weekend 🙂 ❤

        Like

        1. Our weather is very up and down here. Mumhad a very bad cough since Thursday and stayed home on Friday. I kept on asking her to get out of bed and have a play, but no. She is much better now but still coughing like crazy! Have a good weekend. Lots of licks

          Like

  2. It is important to write these adventures down – lifestyles are changing all the time and certainly your New Zealand grandchild will have no intimate knowledge of South Africa and those roots that will inveitably influence her in some way.

    Like

    1. Yes that’s true. I started in December to sort out all my bits and piece and put it all on my time line. Unbelievable how much I’ve already written down. I also started editing the pieces. My first part up to end of Primary is kind of ready to be proofread- still a long way to go.

      Like

        1. Did you read the book or only the review? The review gives a good idea of what to expect. I am lucky that I did not have to move away every year or so and also that my parents were strict but no drinking or personal changes from them(mental issues)

          Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed it to read your memories… you’re right roads can lead to unexpected destinations… and even with our modern gps gadgets to travel the load of life is full of adventures and surprises…

    Like

Leave a Reply

