“SoCS”: Year Prompt Dec 28/19


Year

What a year it had been!

Lots of problems with unruly children at school. Some just take every inch of meat out of you. Before school is usually without problems. Just when a certain family enters the room and everything is turned upside down.

I had two housesitting this year. One was at a place I had been before. The weather was horrible and the sheep kept on breaking out of their paddock. At the moment I’m sitting quietly and relax watching a movie. This year ends as I love it to end. No noises only nature, my dog, now and again a bleeting sheep. Early morning when I look out of the front window I see wild rabbits hopping and running around on the lawn. When I open the front door the rabbits run away as fast as they can. There are bigger young ones and tiny nearly newborn ones all running away at high speed.

I had a lovely lunch with my friend and her family on Christmas day. I made me relax and feel thankful to have such a good friend. She had a nasty fall the day before which wasn’t a good way to end the year. The past year did not start well with me having a fall on January 4. Lucky me I drank a garlick capsule during winter and never fell ill the past winter. I usually get a bad cold and flu every winter. 

This year flew by. Can’t believe it’s the end of 2019. My granddaughter turned three on December 29. Just wonderful

https://lindaghill.com/2019/12/27/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-dec-28-19/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing (typos can be fixed), and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. I will post the prompt here on my blog every Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The,’” or will simply be a single word to get you started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read all of them! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later or go to the previous week by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!


17 responses to ““SoCS”: Year Prompt Dec 28/19”

  1. Pete Avatar
    Pete

    Kids are spoilt for choices sometimes. Thanks for the wishes, right back at you!

    Like

    1. scrapydo2.wordpress.com Avatar

      I know, always something. I’m glad they are back home again. It’s an eight hours drive. Thanks for the wishes too.

      Like

      1. Pete Avatar
        Pete

        Gosh, 8 hours. We drive 18 to 24…..non-stop. I did it 14x return in one year, that’s 28 such trips.

        Like

        1. scrapydo2.wordpress.com Avatar

          Remember we drive only 100 k p h roads are single lanes and hills up and down. Most parts it’s only 80 kph.

          Like

          1. Pete Avatar
            Pete

            That’s my speed although some roads are 120km/h or 75mph. Both the car and I are more relaxed at 60 or even 50mph. Strangely, there’s not much delay in arriving but the going is consistent. I do prefer main line rail travel, though. Also did that in the UK.

            Like

            1. scrapydo2.wordpress.com Avatar

              Here the trains and even buses are very good. I even have a gold card which means that from 9 to 3 I can travel for free. Gold card is for people 65 and older.

              Like

              1. Pete Avatar
                Pete

                I had Tuesdays free and about half price on other days, outside of rush hour. I loved the train to Cambridge from London and to London from Maidenhead. Could do that every day.

                Like

                1. scrapydo2.wordpress.com Avatar

                  I used to go in to Wellington to photograph interesting scenes for my photography course. The last 4 years have passed without me using the train because I’m doing before and after school care. Not enough time to galafant around anymore.

                  Like

                  1. Pete Avatar
                    Pete

                    That’s sad. I wish to visit the UK one day again, to go to Yorkshire as I love reading James Herriot, but also the Hebrides and then Somerset (Dr Robert Clifford’s stories?) and Cornwall, to Fowye and on to Penzance. Another author lived there.

                    Like

                    1. scrapydo2.wordpress.com Avatar

                      Good collection of people and places to long for!

                      Like

                    2. Pete Avatar
                      Pete

                      Sure is. Such wonderful history recorded by that Tangye gent, Catherine Demurier, etc. If I have the names right. I also learned where “a Cock & Bull story” comes from.

                      Like

                    3. scrapydo2.wordpress.com Avatar

                      Haha, interesting! must be a pub story.

                      Like

                    4. Pete Avatar
                      Pete

                      Two pubs, in fact!

                      Like

                    5. scrapydo2.wordpress.com Avatar

                      Haha that’s more funny!

                      Like

                    6. Pete Avatar
                      Pete

                      If only I can recall the author’s name, I’ll have the story

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pete Avatar
    Pete

    Congratulations with the little one’s big day!

    Like

    1. scrapydo2.wordpress.com Avatar

      Thanks Pete, she was far far away from me visiting her other grand parents in Cambridge for the past week. Happy New year to you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.